Historic Pelham

Presenting the rich history of Pelham, NY in Westchester County: current historical research, descriptions of how to research Pelham history online and genealogy discussions of Pelham families.

Tuesday, July 19, 2005

Pelham's Boy Scout Cabin Near The Hutchinson River Parkway

Please Visit the Historic Pelham Web Site
Located at
http://www.historicpelham.com/.

For many years, Boy Scouts who grew up in Pelham camped and gathered in a rustic cabin located near the Hutchinson River Parkway. The cabin was built in 1925 -- before the Parkway. It was a Pelham landmark and is pictured below. Today's Blog posting transcribes an article about the cabin that appeared in the August 29, 1941 issue of The Pelham Sun.


"Pelham Boy Scout Cabin on Hutchinson River Parkway

One of the picturesque out-of-the-way places in the Pehams visited by few adults is the Boy Scout Cabin on the Hutchinson River Parkway in Pelham Manor which has been a popular rendezvous for the children of the Pelhams for many years. The cabin, erected as a training place for the members of the Boy Scout troops of the Pelhams, courtesy is also frequently extended to Boy Scouts of New York City districts who camp at the site over night as part of their pioneer activities. Pelham Girl Scouts and the Cubs also make periodical visits to the cabin for training and fun.

The cabin is situated on a knoll overlooking the parkway opposite Timpson street in Pelham Manor. The site for the cabin was secured through the effort of Gilmore D. Clarke, former Pelham resident who was landscape architect for the Westchester County Park Commission, and was responsible for much of the architecture of the Hutchinson River Parkway. The site is near the tree under which local lore has it, Lord Howe rested during the Battle of Pell's Point, in October, 1776. Remington Schuyler, prominent artist and Indian historian, selected the site because it is rich in Indian lore and Revolutionary historic tradition.

Charles M. Hart, prominent Pelham Manor architect designed the cabin, and his sketch is shown above. The lumber for the cabin was donated by Ralph Angell, lumberman and past president of the Pelham Boy Scout District Committee. The cabin was erected in 1925.

The cabin contains a 44 x 22 foot assembly room, at one side of which is a huge open fireplace. The hearthstones for the fireplace were gathered by members of the Boy Scout troops, and the interior equipment contains many Indian and Revolutionary historical relics which have been found by the members of the local Scout troops.

The cabin can be reached by a path leading from Secor Lane, just south of the Hutchinson River Parkway bridge."

Pelham Boy Scout Cabin on Hutchinson River Parkway, The Pelham Sun, Vol. 31, No. 21, Aug. 29, 1941, p. 6, col. 3.

Please Visit the Historic Pelham Web Site
Located at
http://www.historicpelham.com/.

1 Comments:

At 1:49 PM, Blogger will cavanagh said...

While the boy scout cabin is gone, the chimney still exists. It is located on Imperia Hill which is the hill (and parking lot) overlooking the Glover Field complex.

Regards
Will Cavanagh

 

Post a Comment

<< Home