Historic Pelham

Presenting the rich history of Pelham, NY in Westchester County: current historical research, descriptions of how to research Pelham history online and genealogy discussions of Pelham families.

Tuesday, March 07, 2006

The Church of the Covenant of Pelhamville Organized in 1888

On November 22, 1888, twenty-two local residents organized the "Church of the Covenant of Pelhamville". (Portions of today's Village of Pelham then were known as "Pelhamville"). Members of the congregation claimed that the church was the first Congregational Church organized in Westchester County.

The church was a "direct outgrowth" of the Union Sunday School society organized on August 29, 1875. The first pastor of the church was the Rev. Henry Randall Waite, a member of the Pelham Manor Protective Club.

In 1880, the Union Sunday School society built a tiny frame chapel on Second Avenue between Third and Fourth Streets. An image of a post card depicting that chapel appears immediately below.

As the image above shows, the structure was a tiny little country chapel surrounded by a white picket fence. The congregation used the little chapel until 1916 when a stone chapel was built on Maple Avenue and the first service held on June 21, 1916. According to a brief history of the church published in 1946, the "congregation worshipped there until 1920, at which time the property was sold and the church disbanded."

Please Visit the Historic Pelham Web Site
Located at
Please Click Here for Index to All Blog Postings.


Post a Comment

<< Home