Historic Pelham

Presenting the rich history of Pelham, NY in Westchester County: current historical research, descriptions of how to research Pelham history online and genealogy discussions of Pelham families.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

The Towns of Pelham and Eastchester Decide to Build a Drawbridge Across the Hutchinson River in 1873

Just beyond the new Pelham Manor Shopping Plaza on the Pelham Parkway is a drawbridge.  The first effort to build a drawbridge on that site began in 1873 when the Towns of Pelham and Eastchester approved the expenditure of funds to build such a drawbridge.  A brief article concerning the matter appeared in The New York Times.  An excerpt of the article appears below, followed by a citation to its source.


The town authorities of East Chester and Pelham have jointly decided to construct a drawbridge over East Chester Creek, (which forms the boundary line of the two towns, and familiarly known as Lockwood's Dock Bridge,) at an expense of $6,000, one-half of which is to be paid by each of the towns named.  No vessels pass about the bridge at the present time, but in case of rendering the creek navigable to a point some distance above, as proposed, the draw-bridge will be ready for use. . . . "

Source:  Westchester, N.Y. Times, Dec. 28, 1873, p. 8.

Please Visit the Historic Pelham Web Site
Located at http://www.historicpelham.com/.
Please Click Here for Index to All Blog Postings.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home