Historic Pelham

Presenting the rich history of Pelham, NY in Westchester County: current historical research, descriptions of how to research Pelham history online and genealogy discussions of Pelham families.

Monday, December 28, 2009

Village Elections in the Town of Pelham in 1912

The following article, transcribed from the Saturday, March 23, 1912 issue of the New Rochelle Pioneer, describes the results of the Village elections in the Town of Pelham that year.

Ceder Has a Walk Over at North Pelham -- Pelham Heights and the Manor Are Quiet.

Peter Ceder was re-elected president of North Pelham village at the annual election Tuesday morning, defeating his Republican opponent C. W. Foster by a vote of 184 to 108, a majority of 76.  The rest of the Democratic ticket was elected with good sized majorities as follows:  For trustee, E. C. Logan, Dem. 182; C. T. Cottrell, Rep., 109.  Treasurer, A. P. Delcambre, Dem., 169; Vincent Barker, Rep., 121.  Tax collector, C. A. Dickenson, Dem., 211; Bert Penfield, Rep., 103.  The proposition to raise $30,000 by bond issue for paving and street improvement purposes was carried by a vote of 108 to 44.

There was not as much excitement in the present village election as there has been in previous years.  There were 153 straight Democratic and 69 straight Republican votes.

At Pelham Heights.

Little interest was manifested in the election at Pelham Heights on Tuesday, as only 40 votes were cast, and there was no opposition to the ticket in the field.  E. E. Huber was elected president to succeed A. C. Winch.  Mr. Huber had been village trustee.  The rest of the ticket was as follows:  Trustee, I.B. Ferguson; treasurer, A. L. Bukchout, and tax collector, E. H. Kingsland.  The two last named succeed themselves.  Mr. Ferguson is a new trustee.

At Pelham Manor.

The principal interest in the election in Pelham Manor was in the contest for tax collector.  H. E. Dey, the candidate on the Republican ticket was opposed by E. Kendall Gillett, the nominee on the Prohibition ticket.  Dey won by a vote of 71 to 31.  One hundred and two votes were cast there being no opposition to any of the other candidates and their names appeared on both the Republican and Prohibition tickets.  The officers follows [sic]:  President, Willard P. Brown:  trustee, Walter Scott: treasurer, A. L. Hammett:  tax collector, H. E. Dey.  The only change is that of H. E. Dey, who succeeds Langdon H. Roper.  The two propositions carried.  No. 1 which provides for a bond issue of $16,000 for the purpose of putting the Shore Road and the Boston Post Road in condition was carried by a vote of 32 to 18.  No. 2 which provides for the collection of the garbage, was carried by a vote of 42 to 9."

Source:  Elections Held in Villages, New Rochelle Pioneer, March 23, 1912, p. 7, col. 6.

Please Visit the Historic Pelham Web Site
Located at http://www.historicpelham.com/.
Please Click Here for Index to All Blog Postings.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home